Oris sponsoring culture with music and art

Nicholas Tse

The Oris London Jazz Festival Logo from 1996

LIU Bolin's exclusive artwork created for Oris

  • Oris sponsoring culture with music and art
  • Nicholas Tse
  • LIU Bolin
  • Oscar Peterson
  • Bob Dylan
  • Dizzy Gillespie
  • Frank Sinatra
  • Charlie Parker
  • Duke Ellington
  • Miles Davis
  • Louis Armstrong
  • Lionel Hampton
  • John McLaughlin
  • McCoy Tyner
  • Andy Sheppard

Oris has had a strong emotional connection with music ever since it sponsored the 1996 London Jazz Festival. The first jazz watch was dedicated to the British saxophonist Andy Sheppard in the same year. Since then a long line of watches dedicated to the greats of jazz has been launched, drawing on the unique style and culture of the music and the synergies between the two great art forms.

The year 2007 saw the launch of the Dizzy Gillespie limited edition, a watch with ‘improvised’ numerals. In 2005 the tribute was to the singer and showman Frank Sinatra. Charlie Parker was honoured in 2003, Duke Ellington in 2002, Miles Davis in 2001, and Louis Armstrong in 2000.

In 2009 Oris moved away from jazz to pay tribute to singer-songwriter, poet, musician, author and painter Bob Dylan. Regarded as one of the most influential and successful artists of all time Oris had the honour and privilege of creating a limited edition watch for this singular artist. 2010 sees Oris return to jazz for a new tribute to legendary pianist Oscar Peterson. He won eight Grammy Awards during his illustrious career and is the latest artist to inspire an Oris Limited Edition.

In addition to music, for 2010 Oris worked with emerging Chinese artist, Liu Bolin to bring another element to our world of culture. With two artworks focusing on the concept of time, Liu Bolin became the focus of the 2010 launch of Oris’ new slogan: ‘Real watches for real people’.

Oris Kultursponsoring in der Musik und bildenden Kunst

Nicholas Tse

Logo des Oris London Jazz Festivals von 1996

LIU Bolins Kunstwerk, das er exklusiv für Oris geschaffen hat

  • Oris Kultursponsoring in der Musik und bildenden Kunst
  • Nicholas Tse
  • LIU Bolin
  • Oscar Peterson
  • Bob Dylan
  • Dizzy Gillespie
  • Frank Sinatra
  • Charlie Parker
  • Duke Ellington
  • Miles Davis
  • Louis Armstrong
  • Lionel Hampton
  • John McLaughlin
  • McCoy Tyner
  • Andy Sheppard

Seit Oris 1996 das London Jazz Festival gesponsort hat, pflegen wir auch emotional sehr enge Beziehungen zur Musik. Noch im selben Jahr wurde dem britischen Saxophonisten Andy Sheppard die erste Oris Jazz-Uhr gewidmet. Seit damals wurden viele weitere Uhren zu Ehren verschiedener Jazz-Grössen lanciert. Es sind uhrmacherische Kunstwerke, die den unverwechselbaren Stil und Charakter dieser Musik widerspiegeln und die Synergien von Ton- und Uhrmacherkunst sichtbar machen.

2007 wurde mit der Dizzy Gillespie Limited Edition eine Uhr mit ‚improvisierten’ Ziffern lanciert. 2005 wurde dem Sänger und Entertainer Frank Sinatra Tribut gezollt. Charlie Parker wurde 2003 geehrt, Duke Ellington anno 2002, Miles Davis 2001 und Louis Armstrong im Jahre 2000.

2009 hat sich Oris ein wenig vom Jazz wegbewegt, um dem Singer-Songwriter, Dichter, Musiker, Schriftsteller und Maler Bob Dylan die Reverenz zu erweisen. Oris betrachtet es als Ehre und Privileg, für diesen herausragenden Künstler eine Limited Edition Uhr zu kreieren, den Viele zu den einfluss- und erfolgreichsten Künstlern aller Zeiten zählen. 2010 ist Oris mit einer Hommage an den legendären Pianisten Oscar Peterson zum Jazz zurückgekehrt. Er hat im Lauf seiner glanzvollen Karriere acht Grammy Awards gewonnen und ist der neuste Künstler, der uns zu einer Oris Jazz-Uhr inspiriert hat.

Ausser in der Musik hat sich Oris 2010 in einer Zusammenarbeit mit dem aufstrebenden chinesischen Künstler LIU Bolin engagiert, um ein weiteres Element unserer Welt der Kultur zu beleuchten. Mit zwei Kunstwerken, die sich auf das Wesen der Zeit konzentrieren, steht LIU Bolin 2010 im Zentrum der Lancierung des neuen Oris Slogans: ‚Real watches for real people’ (Echte Uhren für echte Menschen).